Coaching

Over the course of our lives we experience various styles of authority. During childhood we learn at an early stage that mother, father and teacher assert their authority in different ways. We have analogous experiences as adults in our working life. The old but still practised style of management bestows authority by virtue of the contract of employment. The subordinate person has to obey the authority of his superior “without answering back”. The absoluteness of this style of authority does however also have exonerative aspects: the employee does not have to make any decisions himself and is liberated from the pressure of responsibility.

Managers today are increasingly required to adopt a style of authority that would be expected of a good colleague. They are expected to integrate members of staff into the work process and the decisions that are needed for this. It is no longer a question of dictating assignments and rewarding their blind instruction but rather one of bringing to light employees’ expertise and motivating them to apply their abilities to the company’s success. The individual employee is given greater decision-making authority and responsibility. In this way the manager can achieve a kind of authority that is granted to him not just “from above” but is entrusted in him by staff on the basis of his cooperative and motivating style of working.

Many people who have grown up under a “top-down” style of authority do not find it easy to practise a cooperative style of management. For the style of authority experienced during childhood and adolescence usually leaves lasting impressions in the unconscious which often stand in the way of cooperative management styles and the ability to work as part of a team. Many people find these new requirements for delegating tasks on the one hand and extending their fields of responsibility on the other to be a burden on the psyche.

Coaching provides an intensive and effective solution to the balancing act of reconciling the various expectations of the professional environment with styles of authority. It identifies ways of discovering one’s unconscious structures of expectation and leadership, reflecting on them and then taking them into consideration appropriately when making decisions in the future.

With my psychoanalytical coaching concept I pursue the objective of professionalizing the manager, which explicitly includes taking the development of the personality into account. In my coaching the individual thus takes centre stage with his unconscious motives, resources and competence profile.

I focus on the following levels:

  • personal competence
  • interpersonal competence
  • team competence
  • organizational competence

Depending on the intensity of the consultation I distinguish between the long-term accompaniment of managers and focused crisis intervention.

  • Long-term accompaniment of managers
    This form of coaching takes into consideration the whole personality of the manager together with his previous professional history. It tackles the issue of difficulties that arise recurrently, even in different employment relationships: e.g. problems dealing with authority and one’s own staff or problems finding a position in the company where one enjoys recognition, or indecision in planning one’s career.

    Long-term accompaniment also focuses on structures of decision-making and action for which no conscious motives can be accounted for and which the individual deliberately can no longer access. Uncovering unconscious motives will bring to light new resources and help to break down barriers with other members of staff. The objective here is the long-term psychic stabilization of the client in both his professional and his personal environment.

  • Focused conflict management and crisis intervention
    This form of coaching deals with crises which develop suddenly and which may be attributed to one or a few clearly definable causes. Such coaching can for example help people who are under great pressure to succeed or are suffering under company restructuring. They must take on additional work from their colleagues who have been laid off, or cannot come to terms in their new department. If this leads to the employee’s capacities being overloaded this can result in psychosomatic illnesses. Tinnitus (buzzing in the ears) is a classic example of such stress-related illness.

If you are not sure whether psychoanalytically-oriented coaching can assist you in your work, I would be only too pleased to help you in a preliminary discussion.

Contact


go to top

Coaching

In unserem Leben erfahren wir unterschiedliche Autoritätsstile. Schon als Kind lernen wir, dass Vater, Mutter und Lehrer auf verschiedene Weise ihre Autorität einsetzen. Analoge Erfahrungen machen wir als Erwachsene im Berufsleben. Der alte, aber nach wie vor praktizierte Führungsstil verleiht Autorität kraft Arbeitsvertrag. Der Untergebene hat der Autorität seines Vorgesetzten ›ohne Widerrede‹ Folge zu leisten. Die Unbedingtheit dieses Autoritätsstils hat jedoch auch entlastende Aspekte: Der Arbeitnehmer muss nicht selber eine Entscheidung treffen und ist vom Druck der Verantwortung befreit. 

Heute wird der Führungskraft zunehmend ein kollegialer Autoritätsstil abverlangt. Sie soll die Mitarbeiter in den Arbeitsprozess und die dafür notwendigen Entscheidungen einbinden. Es geht nicht mehr darum, Aufträge zu diktieren und deren blinde Weisung zu honorieren, sondern darum, die Kompetenzen der Mitarbeiter zu Tage zu fördern, sie zu motivieren, ihre Fähigkeiten für den Erfolg des Unternehmens einzusetzen. Der einzelne Mitarbeiter bekommt mehr Entscheidungskompetenz und Verantwortung übertragen. Die Führungskraft kann sich auf diese Weise eine Autorität erarbeiten, die ihr nicht nur ›von oben‹ zugestanden, sondern aufgrund ihres kooperativen und motivierenden Arbeitsstils von den Mitarbeitern entgegengebracht wird.

Vielen Menschen, die unter dem Autoritätsstil ›von oben‹ groß geworden sind, fällt es nicht leicht, den kooperativen Führungsstil zu praktizieren. Denn in der Regel hat der Autoritätsstil der Kindheit und Jugend nachhaltige Eindrücke im Unbewussten hinterlassen, die kollegialen Führungsstilen und Teamfähigkeit oftmals im Wege stehen. Viele Menschen empfinden diese neuen Anforderungen, das Delegieren von Aufgaben auf der einen und die Erweiterung ihres Aufgabenbereichs auf der anderen Seite, als eine psychische Belastung. 

Coaching bietet für den Spagat, unterschiedliche Erwartungen des beruflichen Umfeldes und Autoritätsstile miteinander zu vereinbaren, eine intensive und effektive Lösung an. Es zeigt Wege auf, seine unbewussten Erwartungs- und Führungsstrukturen zu entdecken, zu reflektieren und bei zukünftigen Entscheidungen gebührend zu berücksichtigen.

Mit meinem psychoanalytischen Coachingkonzept verfolge ich das Ziel der Professionalisierung der Führungskraft, die ausdrücklich die Berücksichtigung der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung einschließt. In meinem Coaching steht somit der Mensch mit seinen unbewussten Motiven, Ressourcen und seinem Kompetenzprofil im Mittelpunkt. 

Ich nehme folgende Ebenen in den Fokus:

  • persönliche Kompetenz
  • interpersonelle Kompetenz
  • Team-Kompetenz 
  • Organisationskompetenz 

Je nach Intensität der Beratung unterscheide ich zwischen der langzeitorientierten Begleitung von Führungskräften und der fokussierten Krisenintervention.

  • Langzeitorientierte Begleitung von Führungskräften
    Diese psychoanalytische Coachingform nimmt die ganze Persönlichkeit der Führungskraft mit ihrer beruflichen Geschichte in den Blick. Sie thematisiert Schwierigkeiten, die immer wieder auftauchen, sogar bei unterschiedlichen Beschäftigungsverhältnissen: z.B. Probleme im Umgang mit Autoritäten und den eigenen Mitarbeitern oder Probleme, eine Position im Unternehmen zu finden, auf der man Anerkennung genießt, oder die Unschlüssigkeit bei der Berufsplanung. 

    Die langzeitorientierte Begleitung stellt auch Entscheidungs- und Handlungsstrukturen in den Fokus, für die keine bewussten Motive ausgemacht werden können und die dem Einzelnen willentlich nicht mehr zugänglich sind. Die Aufdeckung unbewusster Motive wird neue Ressourcen zu Tage fördern und helfen, Barrieren zu Mitarbeitern abzubauen. Ziel ist eine langfristige psychische Stabilisierung des Klienten im beruflichen, aber auch persönlichen Umfeld.

  • Fokussierte Konfliktbearbeitung und Krisenintervention
    Bei dieser Coachingform geht es um sich plötzlich einstellende Krisen, die auf eine oder wenige klar abzugrenzende Ursachen zurückgeführt werden können. Ein solches Coaching kann beispielsweise den Menschen helfen, die unter großem Erfolgsdruck stehen oder unter betrieblichen Umstrukturierungen zu leiden haben. Sie müssen die Arbeit ihrer entlassenen Kollegen zusätzlich übernehmen oder kommen in der neuen Abteilung nicht zurecht. Führt das dazu, dass die Kapazitäten des Mitarbeiters überbeansprucht werden, kann dies psychosomatische Erkrankungen zur Konsequenz haben. Der Tinnitus (Ohrensausen) ist ein klassisches Beispiel für solch eine stressbedingte Erkrankung.

Falls Sie unsicher sind, ob psychoanalytisch orientiertes Coaching Sie in Ihrer Arbeit unterstützen kann, stehe ich Ihnen in einem ersten Gespräch gerne beratend zur Seite.

Kontakt


Nach oben